RSS

The white weekend

06 Feb

I had this dream where I entered a village enveloped in snow. Everywhere I saw white. Snow and ice and even glistening snow dust that fell over my face. I was staying in one of those ancient roofed houses with chimneys – the one’s that you look at while driving past a village and say “oh, I wish I could stay there for a while”. The air was ice cold. At -17°C and with gusts of wind, it felt like -22°C ? Who knows, it all seemed surreal.

And then I pinched myself – no, I wasn’t dreaming.

When Corinne, my e-friend invited me to ‘Goux-les-usiers’ a village unheard-of near the Swiss border, I happily accepted it, always on the lookout for the ‘authentic’ travel experience that comes when you have a native hosting and showing you around. And so I set off one early Saturday morning. Getting up at 5 am? Oh, never a problem when it comes to travel.

Everything was normal till I reached Besançon, the nearest big city. Corinne came to pick me up, along with Fifi her cute pooch . It was -11°C. And then it happened out of nowhere. As she drove away from the station, everything suddenly turned white. And I mean WHITE. Heaps and heaps of white. Trees covered in white. Houses with white roofs. White cars. And white roads, though that is quite dangerous and not a good thing.

Then we reached her village. -17°C. Yes I could feel it. Call me crazy if you may, but how often does someone from a tropical country get to see something that as a child, only witnessed and visualised in fairy tales. An old but well-maintained house built sometime during the 1850′s with a huge garden, overlooking acres of mountainous forests of Christmas trees,  – all snow-covered ofcourse. An office (where she works) that looks like a portion of a resort that’s been plucked from a far-away beach and planted here. So well, you get up on a Sunday morning, look out through the window sipping hot chocolate and nibbling on some of the region’s best cheese and just soak in all the white. Bliss!

And that closed on another eventful trip – merci Corinne.

3 highlights of the voyage:

1. The yummy Fondue (Comté cheese, white wine & tomatoes) in a small café just off the breathtakingly beautiful Lake St. Point. You definitely emerge energised, happier and ready to take on the cold!

2. Source de la Loué – a spring. While it is more ‘touristy’ during summer-spring, trekking up to it right in the middle of winter and seeing what awaits is quite another experience that cant be described in words.

3. Its almost like being in Swiss with all the snow and the typical wooden houses and plenty ski options. But a lot less cheaper! And ofcourse, you are unlikely to see Bollywood stars break out into a song-and-dance sequence!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2012 in France

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The white weekend

  1. calculator

    June 6, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Just desire to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity in your post is simply excellent and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

     
    • Dipti

      June 6, 2013 at 12:30 pm

      Yeah sure. And thanks for the nice words!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

